Minority boycotts approval of new ministers of Pres Akufo-Addo - Onlinetimesgh

Minority boycotts approval of new ministers of Pres Akufo-Addo

The Minority in Parliament on Friday, May 17 staged a boycott of the approval of the new ministers of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

The minority Leader Dr Cassiel Ato Forson in his submission on the floor questioned how the approval of the ministerial nominees was classified as an urgent matter.

“May I ask, how is the approval of the President’s nominees for ministerial positions an urgent matter, when this Akufo-Addo/Bawumia government already has a large number of ministers and deputy ministers?” He asked.

While walking out of the chamber, some of the opposition lawmakers were heard saying “Ghanaians are suffering.”

Dr Cassiel Ato Forson told the Majority side that “If you don’t care, we care.”

The ministerial nominees are Health Hon. Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye; Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ophelia Mensah Hayford; Information Ms. Fatimatu Abubakar, Gender; Children and Social Protection Dakoa Newman;  Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah; Sanitation and Water Resources Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan; Tourism, Arts and Culture Hon. Andrew Egyapa Mercer, MP, Greater  Accra Region Hon. Titus Glover, Oti Region Mr. Daniel Machator.

The deputy ministerial nominees are for Information Sylvester Tetteh, MP; Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development, Vincent Ekow Assafuah;
Communications and Digitilisation Hon. Charles Acheampong; Health Adelaide Ntim, MP Alexander Akwasi Acquah; Works and Housing Hon. Dr. Prince Hamidu Armah;
Lands and Natural Resources, Akwasi Konadu; Fisheries and Aquaculture Development Hon. Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba; Energy John Kobina Sanie, Collins Adomako Mensah;
Education Kingsley Nyarko; Employment and Labour Relations Hon. Festus Awuah Kwofie;
Gender, Children and Social Protection Hon. Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *