Alexander Afenyo-Markin Assumes Role as Majority Leader, Patricia Appiagyei Named Deputy

In the wake of Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu‘s resignation, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the Deputy Majority Leader and MP for Efutu, steps into the role of Majority Leader in Ghana’s Parliament. This transition marks a significant change in leadership dynamics within the governing party.

Accompanying Afenyo-Markin in his new role, Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa, assumes the position of Deputy Majority Leader, bringing her expertise and experience to support the leadership team. Frank Annoh-Dompreh, the MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri, retains his position as Chief Whip, ensuring continuity in the party’s parliamentary operations.

Meanwhile, Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon, has been appointed as Deputy Whip, while Alex Tettey Djonobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra, takes on the role of Second Deputy Whip. These appointments aim to bolster the party’s leadership structure and maintain effective coordination within Parliament.

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Ghana’s longest-serving lawmaker, formally announced his resignation during a crucial meeting at the presidency in Accra. While his decision has drawn mixed reactions, with First Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu expressing disappointment, there is no indication of coercion behind the resignation.

Addressing journalists, Osei-Owusu commended Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu’s leadership and work ethic, expressing his personal disappointment at the departure. However, he clarified that there is no evidence to suggest that the outgoing Majority Leader was compelled to resign, dismissing speculation to the contrary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *