Cynthia Morrison Loses Agona West NPP Parliamentary Primary; Christopher Arthur Emerges Victorious

The incumbent Member of Parliament for Agona West, Cynthia Morrison, has been defeated in the New Patriotic Party parliamentary primary held on Saturday, April 13.

Morrison garnered 152 votes, while Christopher Arthur polled 240 votes to secure the party’s parliamentary candidacy. Ben Yamoah followed closely with 221 votes, Yawson Otoo with 168 votes, and Joseph Afrankwa with 155 votes.

Supporters of Christopher Arthur were seen jubilating after the election.

The voting took place at a single center located at Otabilkrom Astroturf in Agona Swedru.

Electoral History of Cynthia Morrison: From 2016 Victory to 2020 Re-election

Cynthia Morrison won the seat during the 2016 general elections. In the same year, she contested in the by-election of the Agona West constituency, securing victory with 32,770 votes out of 56,878 cast, representing 58.03 percent of the total valid votes.

In the 2020 general election, Morrison ran again as the NPP parliamentary candidate and was re-elected for a second four-year term. She garnered 30,513 votes out of a total of 59,193 valid votes cast.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *